25 Comments

Thanks for asking! Choosing between traditional (if it is an option) and self-publishing is a topic that interests me, as well as how much it might cost/recommended investments to make before self-publishing (such as working with an editor, or multiple editors?).

Expand full comment

S&S is up for sale? My publisher ended up under their umbrella after several smaller sales. I’m unhappy with the way the big publishers just keep eating up other pub companies. What happens to healthy competition when we’re down to just a Big Two?

That said, I’ve been treated very well by the S&S family. I’ve just had this uncomfortable feeling ever since Penguin and Random House first joined forces, and it isn’t easing. I’ve worked in the book business in various roles for thirty years, and watching smaller companies be swallowed up and lose what makes them unique and specialized makes me sad.

Expand full comment

I’m looking more and more at small presses for my manuscript and am curious about potential routes for growing future writing projects into the Big Five?

Expand full comment

I'm curious about book agents. They do seem to be playing an important gatekeeper role? Would love to hear your insider take.

Expand full comment

Hi, Kathleen, thanks for making the time to do this. Here’s my really broad question: how should writers approach social media/marketing? Knowing that most will get only x amount of support from their publisher -- and I’m not knocking that just acknowledging the reality of limited time/money -- and knowing that there’s a lot of ways to find readers now, what do you think writers can do on their own to help their marketing teams?

Expand full comment

Hey Kathleen! What a lovely invitation to discuss all things publishing. I have a question about memoir. I have a hybrid memoir on submission here in the UK at the moment (hybrid as one strand of the narrative is composed of letters sent between my grandparents while they were still separated by war in the six months before they married). At its heart it's the story of caring; of mother's and daughters as well as my recovery from a breakdown shown alongside the treatment my mother and my grandmother received within the mental health service. My concern is that it's possibly not landing with publisher's because of the sensitive subject matter? The feedback has been really positive but no publisher yet has acquired it. A few questions around whethwr I have the support of my family, too, which I do... What do you think?

Expand full comment

Kathleen, I have a rough draft of a post I need to clean up before I share it. I will let you know when I post it. Meanwhile, I would summarize my suggestion as a need for levelling the playing field. The traditional stream of publishers and their associated industry maintain great advantages over self-published authors. But their predominance shouldn't be allowed to perpetuate unfair advantages going forward. For example, 1) traditional publishers dominate the algorithms of online distributors. Their fare includes the work of literary greats (the "Shakespeares") when copyright expires after 50 or 75 years. I'd like to see an algorithm that features self-published authors. 2) Self-published authors are excluded from major awards programs as well as business incentives from various levels of government. 3) Generally, media giants, including news organizations and journals, only review work that has been submitted by traditional publishers. These actions represent long-held biases against self-published authors. There should be no stigma associated with self-publishing.

My view is that if traditional publishers insist on dominating online distribution, then EVERYTHING else, including book awards programs, book review policies, and business incentives need to be equitable and fair. They say that the Internet has disrupted book publishing and turned it on its head. There remain these additional issues that will be corrected in time, I believe, but how long do we have to wait for change to come in these areas that are so vital to competitiveness in today's book publishing industry? Other interests groups raise the alarm when inequitable and unfair practices hurt their businesses. It is time that we do the same.

Expand full comment

Hi Kathleen: I'm a "newbie" historical fiction writer, and a part-time Sensitivity/Authencity and Beta reader. Currently, I'm writing my first novel (a historical mystery). In response to your question, here are a few of mine. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated! (1) Should an Indie author set up their own publishing press? If so, when, and how? (2) What is the best way a Sensitivity/Authenticity reader of African American and Disabled American issues can promote their services to legitimate large and small publishing presses in a professional manner? (3) How does a newbie Indie author "find their audience?" I'm having a tough time figuring this one out. My sub genres are historical mystery and historical romance. Again, thank you for answering any of my questions. Your newsletter has been quite informative. Keep up the great work!

Expand full comment

Thanks for asking! Perhaps talk about the role of a launch manager and how they mesh with publicity. I worked with a terrific launch manager for a client’s book and she knew and did more for the book’s success than the in-house team.

Tamela

Expand full comment

Thanks for asking! Perhaps talk about the role of a launch manager and how they mesh with publicity. I worked with a terrific launch manager for a client’s book and she knew and did more for the book’s success than the in-house team.

Tamela

Expand full comment

What sells a book - what authors can do on their own. Would love to dissect what Brandon Sanderson and others have been doing with kickstarter

Expand full comment